Skip navigation
The Australian National University
CWEEP Logo Image

Welcome to the Centre for Water Economics, Environment and Policy (CWEEP)

CWEEP pronounced 'sweep' as in to survey so as to obtain a whole and continuous view of the world

Our mission:

To become a leading research centre on water economics and related water policy and water governance issues; and to be part of a global network of water researchers, educators and policy makers to support water education, to strengthen water governance and to promote environmental sustainability.

» view brochure [ PDF, 1585KB ]

Director's Notes

Welcome to CWEEP! As the acronym implies this centre has a key goal to have a wider and holistic perspective of the world in terms of water so that we can see better and further and to respond to water-related problems. The centre was officially launched in February 2010 and since then we have organized several workshops on water issues, including three separate workshops on water reform in reference to the Murray-Darling Basin. We also have a working paper series and I would encourage you to check out this papers that cover a wide range of water-related topics.

The undoubted strength of CWEEP is its Research Associates. Many are leaders in their fields of water research and also in the policy arena. Most are from Australia, but we have Associates from China, France, Spain, Canada, the USA and other locations. We all share a common goal to better understand, and ultimately manage, water related problems on a local and global scale. We face big challenges, but together, we believe we can make a difference.


» more publications



Research associates

Dr. Quentin Grafton Dr. Quentin Grafton
Prof. Grafton holds a Chair in Economics and ...

Stephen Dovers Stephen Dovers
Professor Steve Dovers is Director of The Fenner ...

Sue Jackson Sue Jackson
Sue Jackson is a senior social scientist with CSIRO's ...

Anthony Hogan Anthony Hogan
BA (Welfare Studies); MSC (Hons) PhD ...

Daniel Connell Daniel Connell

Marian García-Valiñas Marian García-Valiñas
Marian García-Valiñas is a researcher at ...

Paul Ryan Paul Ryan
Paul is the principal of Interface NRM, an environmental ...

Neil Gunningham Neil Gunningham
Neil Gunningham is a Professor within the Fen ...

Amanda Lynch Amanda Lynch
Prof. Amanda Lynch FTSE is interested in the intersections ...

John Quiggin John Quiggin
John Quiggin is a Federation Fellow in Economics and Political Scien ...

John Freebairn John Freebairn
After graduating with a PhD from the University ...

Kevin Fox Kevin Fox
Kevin Fox works primarily in the field of economic measurement, ...

Céline Nauges Céline Nauges
Céline Nauges is a senior researcher at the French Institute ...

Katherine Daniell Katherine Daniell
BEng(Civil)(Hons) / BA Adel., PhD (ANU/AgroPari ...

Jennifer McKay Jennifer McKay
Professor McKay serves as the Director for the ...

William Nikolakis William Nikolakis
William is currently a postdoctoral fel ...

Steven Cork Steven Cork
Steven Cork is an ecologist and futurist. He spent 25 years in CSI ...

DC "Bear" McPhail DC "Bear" McPhail
Bear's expertise is in aqueous geochemistry, ...

Ejaz Qureshi Ejaz Qureshi
Dr Ejaz Qureshi has extensive experience in natural resour ...

Ian Falconer Ian Falconer
Ian Falconer has a long involvement in water quality issues, particul ...

Robert O'Brien Robert O'Brien
Dr R.J. (Bob) O'Brien is the Managing Direc ...

Gary Libecap Gary Libecap
Gary is a Donald Bren Distinguished Professor of ...

Hugh Sibly Hugh Sibly
B.Sc. (ANU), M.Ec. (Monash), Ph.d. (Melbourne)

Jeff Bennett Jeff Bennett
B Ag Ec (UNE), PhD (ANU)

Steven Renzetti Steven Renzetti
Steven Renzetti is a Professor of Economics at ...

Gregory Hertzler Gregory Hertzler
Gregory is currently an Honorary ...

Jeff Connor Jeff Connor
Dr Connor identifies opportunities to improve ...

Karen Hussey Karen Hussey
Dr Hussey is the ANU Vice-Chancellor's Representative ...

Barry Newell Barry Newell
Dr Barry Newell is a physicist who has an interest in (a) the dynam ...

Douglas Fisher Douglas Fisher
Professor (MA, LLB, PhD (Edinburgh)), ...

Jamie Pittock Jamie Pittock
WWF Research Associate, PhD Scholar, Fenner School of ...

Allan Curtis Allan Curtis
Allan Curtis holds a strategic research chair as the Professor of ...

Jeremy Cheesman Jeremy Cheesman
Jeremy Cheesman is a resource and ...

Angela Arthington Angela Arthington
An Aquatic Ecologist with a wide knowledge ...

Caroline Sullivan Caroline Sullivan
Associate Professsor of Environmental ...

Richard Tooth Richard Tooth
Dr Richard Tooth is a consulting principal with the Sydney office of ...

John Williams John Williams
BSc Agr (Hons), PhD

Sarah Wheeler Sarah Wheeler
Sarah is a Senior Research Fellow with the Centre for Regulation and ...

Henning Bjornlund Henning Bjornlund
Henning has been involved in water policy research ...

Diane Dupont Diane Dupont
Diane Dupont holds a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of ...


Water Markets Workshop
3 August, 2012

» view details

2nd 'Practical Responses to Climate Change' conference - CALL FOR ABSTRACTS
4 October, 2011

» view details [PDF, 227KB]

Daniel Connell and Quentin Grafton launch new book at Parliament House
21 June, 2011

» view E-book details
» view photo gallery

Technical Workshop on Socio-Economic Effects of MDB Water Reform Tuesday
14 December, 2010

» more information

Australia China Environment Development Partnership Seminar: Water and Wetlands
29 July, 2010

» more information

CWEEP Formal Launch
Dr James Horne
(Deputy Secretary, DEWHA)
01 February, 2010

» view photo gallery


» more projects




The basin by numbers: environment (chair and panel session)

30 September 2015
Chair: Dr Jamie Pittock, Fenner School of Environment and Society, The Australian National University

Some emerging challenges in managing aquatic ecosystems under the basin plan

30 September 2015
Dr Nick Bond, Australian Rivers Institute, Griffith University

Establishing environmental water requirements in the murray-darling basin

30 September 2015
Professor Ross Thompson, Institute for Applied Ecology, University of Canberra

» more videos

Updated:  21 November 2013/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement /Page Contact:  CAP Web Team